Unification of the Customer Area into a single platform

January 10, 2024 13:42

Why are we doing this?

Currently, as platform users continue to move to our Adyen for Platforms new integration, they are making use of two different instances of the Customer Area:

  • Customer Area: Used to view payments, manage risk and payment methods

  • Balance Platform Customer Area: Used to view account holders, transfers, balance accounts, initiate transfers and manage sweep configurations

This unification is being performed in order to provide users with a single platform which will allow for improved simplicity and reduce the amount of credentials needed by users to access all required Adyen’s systems.

What will the unification entail?

The Customer Area unification will be performed by moving all functionality from the Balance Platform Customer Area to the original Customer Area, also known as the future Single Customer Area.

Once all functionality and users have been successfully transitioned to the Single Customer Area, the Balance Platform Customer Area will be deprecated from the LIVE environment.

What is the timeline for the unification of the Customer Area?

The unification of the Customer Area will be performed in stages. A description for each stage can be found below:

Stage 1

As of January 10th, 2024

Stage 2

As of Q2, 2024

Stage 3

As of Q1, 2025

(Single) Customer Area

Replication of platform functionality with the exception of reporting, developer tools, issuing and capital.

Replication of most platforms functionality with the exception of issuing and capital.

Launch as the Single Customer Area for all users.

Balance Platform Customer Area

All functionality remains unchanged. No access is revoked or removed.

All functionality remains unchanged. No access is revoked or removed.

Deprecation of the Balance Platform Customer Area.

What does this change mean to you?

his transition will be performed seamlessly with second to none intervention from your side. All users with access to both Customer Areas will automatically get the same type of user roles and accesses from the Balance Platform Customer Area in the (Single) Customer Area. For platforms upgrading from the classic platform to balance platform, users will also get the equivalent of their old Marketplace roles.

If a user had one of the Marketplace roles in the left column, they received the equivalent Balance role in the right column:

Marketplace role

Balance role

Allow the user to download the payout confirmation letter

Download transfer confirmation letter

Change the auto-fund configuration from the customer area

Manage sweep configurations

Instruct payouts to bank accounts for all account holders from the customer area

Initiate transfers

Merchant Extended MarketPlace role

Balance platform base role + Download transfer confirmation letter + Manage account holder capabilities + Manage account holders & legal entities + View account holders PII + View bank transfers PII

Merchant MarketPlace role

Balance platform base role + View account holders PII + View bank transfers PII

Perform and manage Fund Transfers from the customer area

Initiate transfers

Stage 1 (As of January 10th, 2024)

  • User roles and access will be replicated from the Balance Platform Customer Area to the (Single) Customer Area. All tasks that would be traditionally performed in the Balance Platform Customer Area only can now also be performed in (Single) Customer Area. An overview of the existing roles used to manage your platform can be found in our docs. This will allow users to start getting familiar and to start adopting the (Single) Customer Area. In this stage, the tasks that will be replicated from the Balance Platform Customer Area to the (Single) Customer Area are:

    • View account holder details, capabilities and legal entity information

    • View and initiate transfers

    • View balance accounts

    • View and manage sweep configurations

    • View your Adyen bank accounts and payment instruments

Please note that as mentioned in the timeline above, reporting and developer tools will only be available as of Stage 2.

Stage 2 (As of Q2, 2024)

  • (Single) Customer Area will have the exact same platform management and configuration functionality as the Balance Platform Customer Area. This includes reporting and developer tools.

  • Balance Platform Customer Area will remain unchanged. No access is revoked or removed.

Stage 3 (As of Q1, 2025)

  • Single Customer Area is launched as the only Customer Area interface for users.

  • Balance Platform Customer Area is deprecated for all users.

Where can I find other useful information about this change?