How do I cancel a payment?
How to cancel a payment
- Log in to your Customer Area.
- Go to Transactions > Payments.
- Select the PSP reference of the payment you want to cancel.
Select See all payment actions > Cancel payment.
Cancel payment is available only if the payment isn’t yet captured (Authorised status).
- Enter the confirmation code, and select Submit cancel request.
Tip: To cancel a payment via the API, follow our technical documentation.
Note: When you cancel a payment, your customer won’t see a refund. A refund isn’t needed because funds were never deducted.
Which payments can I cancel?
You can cancel a payment you previously authorized but no longer wish to capture. Canceling the payment returns the funds to the customer.
You can cancel a payment when your payment method completes the following steps:
- Authorization: The payment details of the customer are verified and the funds are reserved.
- Capture: The reserved funds are transferred from the customer’s account to yours.
Note: A payment with an immediate capture can’t be canceled and would need to be refunded.
Watch how to cancel a payment
Was this article helpful?
Learn more on this topic and practice what you’ve learned.Go to your Customer Area